Vitesse is just two matches away from the club’s first trophy in it’s history. Vitesse was founded on 14 May 1892, but has yet to win a major trophy in The Netherlands. On Wednesday they will play the semi-final of the KNVB Cup against Sparta Rotterdam.

Vitesse are celebrating their 125th anniversary on the 14th of May and are hoping to add the first major cup into the their trophy cabinet two weeks before. The Arnhemmers have won the Eerste Divisie (second tier) twice and the Tweede Divisie (third tier) once, but have never won the Eredivisie or KNVB Cup in its long history. Vitesse finished as runner-up  in the Eredivisie several times in the first 25 years, but failed to win it. In 1912, 1927 and 1990 Vitesse lost the cup final. In the last edition, John van den Brom missed a penalty in stoppage time to equalize against PSV. He is now manager of AZ and could possibly face Vitesse in the final, but first the boys in yellow and black will face Sparta this Wednesday.

Vitesse were lucky with the draws in the first round of the cup and knocked amateur side ASV De Dijk (2-7) out in the first round. In the second round, the Arnhemmers faced second tier side RKC at home. Chinese striker led Vitesse to the next round with a goal and two assists (4-1). On the 14th of December, Vitesse knocked fifth tier side Jodan Boys out with a solid win (4-0) and qualified for the quarter-finals. Vitesse faced Eredivisie leaders Feyenoord in the quarter-finals and shocked everyone by knocking them out with a surprising win (2-0) at home. Vitesse qualified for the semi-finals of the KNVB Cup for the first time in 16 years and are just two matches away from the first major prize in it’s history AND direct access to the Europa League group stage. On Wednesday, Fraser’s side will play against Sparta away. The day after, AZ and Cambuur will fight for the other ticket for the final.

It would be a dream scenario to win the KNVB Cup, the first major trophy in the clubs history, in De Kuip just two weeks before the clubs 125th anniversary on the 14 of May.